Fossils, Barns, and Homesteads on a Theme Thursday

While in Colorado we decided to go see the Florissant Fossil Beds.  I’m not sure what I was really expecting……okay, that is not totally true.  When I read fossil bed, I was thinking bones.   I definitely wasn’t thinking petrified trees.  This picture pretty much sums up how we felt about looking at a bunch of petrified tree stumps:

994955_10202168969011401_1733644698_nI absolutely LOVE the look on Lacy’s face in this picture!

All was not lost on this trip though.  We did take a nice hike around all the “fossils” and got to see the Charlotte Hill Homestead.  Charlotte Hill was a pioneer and homesteader in the late 1800’s.  She uncovered and collected several fossils at Florissant.  Yes, there is more to the Florissant Fossil Beds than the petrified trees.  They have a small museum with several fossils of insects and other items.  The thing I found most interesting during the whole visit was Charlotte Hill”s Homestead and luckily for me, I took a picture of the barn and can use it for Theme Thursday.

1381616_10202168971491463_410398288_n

I also took a picture of the main house I would like to share, simply because it is my favorite picture taken there.

1377296_10202168971691468_193230778_n

If you would like to see more pictures of barns today, head on over to Clan Donaldson and check out Theme Thursday.  If you have no interest in barns and want to see California in the winter, head on over to California to Korea  (Sorry Micaela, I couldn’t resist).

7 thoughts on “Fossils, Barns, and Homesteads on a Theme Thursday

  1. Wow – that looks really green for Colorado! Maybe I’ve lived away too long, because it always looks so yellow and brown when we visit now. 🙂 Love that last photo – great composition and colors!

Leave a Reply

