Traveling Solo

Monday I officially started traveling by myself.  It was the first day that I didn’t have anyone in the van with me and I wasn’t on the way to meet anyone.  It was a rough day.  I was excited when I first set out that morning, but I didn’t have a destination or a plan and as the day wore on I started to miss traveling with Lacy.  It hit me hard while I was grocery shopping in Walmart.  I know it seems like a silly place to get all emotional, but it reminded me of all the silly things Lacy and I did to keep ourselves entertained and kill time before bed time when we camped out in the parking lots.

Monday was also the first day I had to sleep in the van by myself in a random place.  I ended up staying at a the noisiest truck stop in the world that night and only slept 5 hours.  The next day was much better.  I had jobs lined up for the day and a destination of Erie, PA to end up at.  I traveled and did some work and sightseeing and ended up at a nice comfy hotel at the end of the day.

Today I woke up with a lost feeling again.  I had another day to fill before I had anywhere I needed to be and only one job to do that wouldn’t take that long.  I had no idea where to go or what to do.  I kind of wandered the town for an hour before I decided to check out Presque Isle State Park (Check out that post HERE).  Going to that park was the best decision I could have made.  It made me realize that I’m really where I want to be.  There are going to be days where it is lonely, but in the long run the travel is really worth it.  I took the chance and bought a ticket for the Muddy Roots Spring Weekender (the post recapping that is HERE) at the beginning of the year.  I knew I would most likely be going by myself, but I ended up finding someone to ride up there with me and met a bunch of new people while I was there.  Everything works out in the end and unless you take chances in life, you never really get to experience it.  The lonely days are few and far between but the experiences I am taking away from traveling will be with me forever.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Traveling Solo

Leave a Reply

