My First Offical Housesit

If you told me a couple of years ago that I would be mucking out a goat pen on a farm in Pennsylvania I would have laughed in your face. By look at me, mucking out a goat pen and being happy about it. It was hard work, but I would much rather be in that goat pen than sitting in an office making up PowerPoint presentations.

Which brings me to my first official housesit.  I really lucked out on this one.  I got to sit for a wonderful family with a beautiful house and hobby farm in Pennsylvania.  I took care of six goats, 2 dogs, 2 cats, fish, and chickens.  I had one escapee chicken the first day I was there by myself, and a couple of escapee goats, but I got them all corralled again.

Saturday went without incident and then Sunday I thought that I would be able to finish cleaning out the goat pen.  No luck. I was taking a break to eat lunch and I heard one of the goats scream.  I look down at the pen in the lower pasture and one of the goats was hanging by one leg from the fence and another has jumped over and was running free.  I raced down the hill to free the foot from the fence.  I had to pick her up (good thing they are little) and balance her on one knee so I could use both hands to free her.  I got her undone and put her back in the pen but there was no getting the other escapee back in the pen without the rest escaping too.  I gave up and opened the pen near the house and got the fish crackers (that is how you lure them from one pen to another) and took them up to the other pen.  The one with the hurt foot made it up by herself and I was able to take a look at her and she looked fine.  She ended up limping around for the rest of the day and was fine by the next day.

Monday I was able to finish the goat pen and all the animals behaved themselves.  It was a nice uneventful day.  Tuesday I went exploring at Valley Forge National Historical Park and Wednesday I had planned to get some shops in but received an e-mail from the homeowners that they would be back at midnight that night.  I had my days confused and thought they were coming home the following day.  I canceled my shops and worked on making sure the house was clean and ready for their return.  They returned at 2am Thursday morning and later that morning I went over everything and got the rest of my stuff packed up and headed back out on the road.

It was nice to be in one place for the week and it was wonderful to be on a farm for a week.  I called it my farm boot camp since it made me get a workout in every day!

I’d say my first official sit was a success and I’m looking forward to my next house sit in Asheville, NC that starts in a week.

The front of the house

The front of the house

The beautiful house

The beautiful house

Side view of the house

Side view of the house

A view from the deck

A view from the deck

Milo and Cody lounging in the office

Milo and Cody lounging in the office

A few of the goats

A few of the goats

Milo

Milo

Luther

Luther

Zeke

Zeke

Koi pond

Koi pond

Goats in the lower pasture

Goats in the lower pasture

Mama and her triplets

Mama and her triplets

Beautiful flowers

Beautiful flowers

Leave a Reply

