Shenandoah National Park

I recently spent a few days in Shenandoah National Park and camped for two nights.  I drove the entire length of the park via Skyline Drive  (105 miles) and stopped at several of the 75 lookouts to take in the views.  Unfortunately it was very foggy and rainy for most of my visit in the park, but I still got to see a lot and enjoy a new park.

This was also my first time camping for more than a night all by myself and I have to say, it was BORING.  I did get a lot of reading in and got creative with picture taking, but nothing beats having someone with you to play cards with on your down time while camping.

To get this post started off, let’s see a video of just how rainy it was my first day in the park.

I did get out of the van after filming this video so I could use the restroom and get my park passport book stamped.  By the time I made it back to the van I was drenched.  I had to stop at another pull out down the road and change my clothes it was so bad.

And now for the pictures:

NCAdventureWeek 110

 

Beautiful viewsNCAdventureWeek 116

 

View of the rainy roadNCAdventureWeek 122

There were lots of bunnies in the park.NCAdventureWeek 127

When you are bored and stuck in the van you take pictures of your feet. NCAdventureWeek 129

Me in the Ramblin’ Van at the campsite. NCAdventureWeek 132

You also get really creative with keeping the bugs out and letting air in.  I took the netting for my EZ up and made a screen for the van door.  It worked.  I had airflow and no bugs.  NCAdventureWeek 136

This guy made a home within 20 minutes of me being in the campground.  He also hung on for the ride back to Asheville.  NCAdventureWeek 137

More ViewsNCAdventureWeek 140

Being here made me actually want to hike the Appalachian Trail.  I’m sure I would totally change my mind after the first day, but the thought was nice.  NCAdventureWeek 141

More ViewsNCAdventureWeek 142

I don’t know why, but I really liked this tree. NCAdventureWeek 145

Here is the visitor center when it is not in the middle of a downpour.  NCAdventureWeek 150

NCAdventureWeek 151

NCAdventureWeek 149

NCAdventureWeek 155

The view isn’t too bad today.  NCAdventureWeek 156

The Ramblin’ Van stopped at one of the many lookouts NCAdventureWeek 160

More bunniesNCAdventureWeek 163

My campNCAdventureWeek 164

I was in the van reading and I heard a kinda crash come out of the bushes.  I sat up and looked out the window and saw this run by.  NCAdventureWeek 166

The next day I was walking to the restroom and was looking at my phone when something startled me.  It was this deer.  She was standing on the side of the road and jumped in the bushes to hide when I walked by her.  This picture cracks me up.  NCAdventureWeek 170

Hiding deerNCAdventureWeek 167

Did I mention there were a lot of bunnies around this place?NCAdventureWeek 175

Here is one of the creative pictures I was talking about.  I read a solo travelers blog that talked about creative ways to make sure you were in some of the photos of your adventures.  This was one of my takes on that. NCAdventureWeek 177

NCAdventureWeek 181

Ready for another day!

Ready for another day!

 

NCAdventureWeek 183

 

Talus SlopesNCAdventureWeek 186

 

 

2 thoughts on “Shenandoah National Park

  1. I love that you are doing this. I must confess that I am a little jealous. I hope you are having a good time!!! What an experience!

Leave a Reply

