Watkins Glen State Park, NY

Sunday I got to hike Watkins Glen State Park and cross it off my bucket list.  It was absolutely beautiful!

The park website describes the park better than I can: Watkins Glen State Park is the most famous of the Finger Lakes State Parks, with a reputation for leaving visitors spellbound. Within two miles, the glen’s stream descends 400 feet past 200-foot cliffs, generating 19 waterfalls along its course. The gorge path winds over and under waterfalls and through the spray of Cavern Cascade. Rim trails overlook the gorge.

And now for pictures!

Ready for my hike!

Ready for my hike!

This sign tells you that there are over 800 stone steps along the trail.  I think I walked up and/or down most all of them!

This sign tells you that there are over 800 stone steps along the trail. I think I walked up and/or down most all of them!

July2014 556 July2014 460 July2014 475 July2014 476 July2014 478 July2014 479 July2014 480 July2014 483 July2014 545 July2014 550 July2014 552

Remember those 800 steps, here is the last flight I had to climb.  It was a long climb too!

Remember those 800 steps, here is the last flight I had to climb. It was a long climb too!

Back in the van and tired after all those steps!

Back in the van and tired after all those steps!

2 thoughts on “Watkins Glen State Park, NY

  1. Pingback: Theme Thursday – Trails | Ramblin' Sisters

Leave a Reply

