Long Island Adventures

I had a four day break from my house sitting duties in Stony Brook and took a little adventure around Long Island.

Long Island isn’t really all that exciting, and there isn’t a whole lot to do.  It’s also very expensive to camp.  That’s okay.  I got creative in my camping and was able to entertain myself the whole time. I spent a couple of days exploring nature and then took advantage of the wonderful Sachem Public Library in Holbrook, NY.  The library also had a cute little park on it’s property for library goers to enjoy.

A couple of tips on getting around all those expensive park fees and camping fees:

– wait until after 4pm to enter a state park on Long Island OR enter before 8am.  Most only charge an entrance fee or parking fee between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm. This little trick saved me $28+ in entrance and parking fees.

-Park in the day parking or guest parking overnight if you have a vehicle that fits in a normal parking spot.  I came into one of the parks after hours and parked in the day parking lot and was able to sleep there no problem.  Saved me another $28 in campsite fees.

I also attempted to go to Long Beach Town Park, but when I arrived at the gate I was told that it was for Smithtown Residents only.  The guard did allow me to park and take a few pictures of the boats though.  At least I got to see that much.

I’m back at my house sitting assignment today.  It’s nice to shower and not have to come up with an itinerary for the day!

Now, I hope you enjoy these photos and this cheesy video of my Long Island adventures this week.

Hither Hills State Park

Hither Hills State Park

Hither Hills State Park

Hither Hills State Park

Cedar Point County Park

Cedar Point County Park

Montauk Point Lighthouse

Montauk Point Lighthouse

Aug2014 155

Inside/Out Park at library

Inside/Out Park at library

Long Beach Town Park

Long Beach Town Park

 

 

One thought on “Long Island Adventures

  1. Hither Hills State Park is one of the best of NY’s beach state parks . To get reservations (for camping), you need to apply about nine months in advance. But the wait is so worth it. It’s probably easier to get a reservation during the week if you have a tent only –no RV. With RV, you definately need that 9 month in advance reservation. Great pictures! Fabulous! Yes it is the best beach around! Cool camping!

Leave a Reply

