Sequoia Park Zoo

Last weekend I visited the Sequoia Park Zoo in Eureka, CA.  It’s a small zoo and it always seems to be raining whenever I want to visit, but crummy weather or not, it’s worth the trip.

20160103_133750

Micaela, over at California to Korea, is hosting a “rule of thirds” Theme Thursday so I thought I would incorporate it into my zoo post today.   I actually do take a look at the Theme Thursday schedule before I head out on my adventures with my camera so I can work on my photography skills (or you know, work on acquiring said skills).   Thank you to Micaela for coming up with challenging themes and hosting Theme Thursday.  I missed it when it was gone and am really happy it is back!

On with the zoo post!

Sequoia Park Zoo is one of the smallest accredited zoos in the U.S.  It sits on five acres and packs a lot into that little space! It has a barnyard exhibit and petting zoo, an aviary, red pandas (that I unfortunately did not get to see), an otter exhibit, and much more!

I’m just going to go ahead and let the pictures tell the rest of my zoo experience.  The first three are for my Theme Thursday people so the captions will have a little more information that just animal names and information.

Enjoy!

Crested Screamer. I think the fence pole in this one is throwing off my rule of thirds here. I didn’t pay much attention to it until right now and now it is all I can see. I’m still going to leave the shot here because I love this bird!

Roster in the Barnyard area

Roster in the Barnyard area. I think this is one of my favorite shots of the day. I just love the colors on this guy!

Duck in the aviary

Duck in the aviary

The cutest pig ever!

The cutest pig ever!

These goats were awesome!

These goats were awesome!

Cute Cavies

Cute Cavies

The majestic bald eagle

The majestic bald eagle

Silly Alpaca

Silly Alpaca

I think you can tell that I really liked the barnyard area of the zoo.

If you would like to see more Theme Thursday posts, please head over to California to Korea.  Feel free to link up if you would like to participate too!  I also have a photo in my “Winter in the Redwoods” post that fits this weeks Theme Thursday.  You can check it out here.

2 thoughts on “Sequoia Park Zoo

Leave a Reply

