Simplify – A Theme Thursday Post

I started back to school this week so I did not have a lot of time to play around with photos and blogging this week.  It has also been raining quite a bit up here, so my adventure days have been cut short or nonexistent.  I did make it out last Monday for a trip to Humboldt Redwoods State Park, but it wasn’t adventure enough to warrant it’s own blog post.  I’ll have to save that for when I am able to explore the park and the trails more extensively.

Last night I was thinking about what I wanted to do with this theme and knew that I had a lot of ocean photos that were “simple” photos.  Mainly just water, maybe a lone rock in the middle of the ocean, but mainly just lots and lots of ocean water.  I knew I had a tons of these photos in my files that I hadn’t used for anything and thought this was the perfect format for them.  Below are pictures taken during three different time periods at three different locations.

This first picture is from Dry Lagoon Beach in Trinidad.  This beach is located right across the street from the RV resort I was staying at when I first moved up here in August.  This picture was taken during that time period, late in the afternoon. The lighting in this picture is too bright and gives the photo a dull look that I actually quite like.

Humboldt 186

This next picture was taken last month at the beach just south of my office.  I was playing with my new lens and capturing the different stages of the waves.

Day_Wirh_Andy 261

The next two photos are from my  hike on Trinidad Head.  The top one is the most simple, yet beautiful picture. I love the focus on the water with just a little bit of sun and land off to the side.  The bottom one has that focus on the sunlight and a cool solar flare in it, but is still so simple.

Tinidad 023 Tinidad 035

Make sure to check out Theme Thursday at California to Korea to see more photos and different takes on simplicity.

 

One thought on “Simplify – A Theme Thursday Post

Leave a Reply

